Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (2022)

A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (1)

Superior of Oklahoma City, OK Verified Reviewer

Original review: July 15, 2022

Our company used this brand-briefly. Due to the fact that they do NOT stand behind their product! We have had at least 6 customers with manufacturer defects. NOT one time has Owens stood behind their product!! As a roofing company it is a disgrace that this shingle manufacturer can and will take advantage of consumers, including our company. What a rip off this company is. I have just read that Owens had a class action lawsuit taken out against them.

3 people found this review helpful

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (2)

John of Ozark, MO Verified Reviewer

Original review: March 17, 2021

Owens Corning installed faded shingles on our house in 2014. They were 30 year shingles. After only a couple years, we notice some fading but it was only apparent in direct sunlight. Now after 7 years our house looks like a zebra. It is extremely apparent. I have called and talked to Owens Corning and they take zero responsibility. Look elsewhere if your looking for a quality shingle. A representative called and agreed that this wasn't correct and asked if she could have 2 business days to get this resolved. It has been a week and I haven't received any response.

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (3)

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (4)

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (5)

24 people found this review helpful

(Video) Owens Corning Duration Shingle Review by ContractingPRO

Thank you, you have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (6)

Todd of Port Hope, MI Verified Reviewer

Original review: Oct. 27, 2020

** This here is the issue.. As we have a large attic and the last contractor before we bought the home did not do venting for this home. So as we tried to get the roof repair by the contractor.. We filed a complaint with the State Of Michigan that the Contractor whom has done 20 years of work in this state and county. Our State left our complaint for over a year. Then covid hit and this put us out longer. So we bought this vent and installed it.. As well we did not use a roof cap shingles, we used the **.

We screwed them on and black jack caulked it all.. So as the winter came in 2019-2020 we noticed that Owens made a producted that filled up with snow in the vents.. This does not help with venting at all.. So in the spring we went up and looked and notice another issue.. The vents were moving, Shrinking and pulling apart. Now we had no leaks in the attic from our install.. So we made a notice with Owens, and you know what we found out that owens just filled this over the a warranty issue they do not want to cover.. Because we did not use caps and nail to the plastic which we felt would damage the vents for sure..

Either way we notice they are pulling this product off the shelve slowly and replacing it with a roll our style plastic vent.. And why because they know they lied to all of us and should have done a recall to replace the vents for all home owners.. Big Companies turn their backs on all of us like this too much.. My cost will be over 400.00 because they will not take responsibility for their bad product.. Thank you Owens.. the Pink panther really should not be on your products.. Because we trust him but not you Owens ever again..

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (7)

Customer increased Rating by 4 stars!

ginny of Fort Edward, NY Verified Reviewer

Resolution response: July 30, 2020

I was trying to get help with my roof replacement during the early Coronavirus shutdown. Life was very complicated and I do understand that. This company did come through for me and I am so happy about that. Not only did they do the correct thing but they were all so incredibly kind to me.

(Video) Owens Corning Shingle vs. Other Architectural Shingle

Original review: May 26, 2020

I am very disappointed... We installed our 50 year Owens Corning roof in 2004. Now in 2020 my shingles have cracks all over and needs to be replaced. I tried dealing with the company thinking well at least they will help with the cost of the shingle and I will pay for the labor but NO. They tell me that it is not their fault. I have had 3 roofers at my house and roofers love to slam another roofer. They all say it was a shingle problem not installation. I think that it is horrible that they will not help me out at all. I feel like this is a total scam to get me to buy a expensive roof and it lasted less than my last builder grade shingle lasted.

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (8)

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (9)

43 people found this review helpful

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (10)

Ron of Gould City, MI Verified Reviewer

Original review: Feb. 11, 2020

We built a new house in 2012 purchase 40 year duration shingles and after only 8 days a few blew off. They NEVER sealed down to the roof and within a year large sheets of shingles would slide off. MANY times I repaired and hoped they would seal in the summer sun. After the next year I had to re-shingle my entire Kitchen roof and I contacted Owens Corning 2 times over this issue of large patches of shingles sliding off. Did the lame warranty paperwork, sent pictures and sent in my 2 shingles... was told the "LAB" was looking into it... After a month they sent me a letter stating it was an installation issue. I have shingled MANY houses in my life. This is a brand new event. If this was NOT a product FAILURE then WHY did Owens Corning almost immediately stop making them and come up with a different version of that product???

Why is there 75 people on the internet complaining about the EXACT SAME ISSUES??? How many HOMEOWNERS have to be cheated before we all start a CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT??? I can not go back to the store that sold me them because it went out of business... Owens Corning has a system of loops they make you jump through, thinking you may actually get them to stand behind their product but it REALLY is a system of smoke and mirrors. How many times have they actually made a customer happy??? It is a numbers game.. How many can they ignore Homeowners before someone hires a lawyer.

45 people found this review helpful

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (11)

Ian of Charlotte, NC Verified Reviewer

Original review: Feb. 7, 2020

I installed 51 squares of Owens Corning Oakridge Shingles (Color Onyx Black) on my home in 2013. After a roof inspection about six weeks ago, I discovered that all of the shingles are breaking down and showing fibers. Some of the shingles are worse than others. I contacted Lowe's which instructed me to file a claim with Owens Corning because this was not normal "Wear and Tear". I filed a claim and received a box requesting many pictures and 2 shingle samples. I gathered all of the information including the pictures, claim form and samples. I shipped the package off via UPS. Keep in mind that I was told that I would be reimbursed by Owens Corning up to $150 for the cost of the shingle samples (Roofers Labor).

I received a call after six weeks from OC that after careful review in their "LAB" that there was nothing wrong with the shingles. They denied the claim. They also never reimbursed me for the shingle samples. I have multiple roof inspection reports that clearly state that this is not normal wear and tear nor damage from "Acts Of God". Do yourself a favor and stay away from OC products. Their product is garbage and so is their customer service. Save yourself the money and headache!! I am out over $12,000 after I install a new roof.

(Video) Owens Corning Duration Shingle Review

47 people found this review helpful

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (12)

Original review: June 22, 2019

Installed over 60 square Oakridge pro 30 shingles on new construction single family home in 2005. I was constantly finding excessive granules in gutters soon after. Placed a call to O/C in 2006 and was assured this was normal. Now 10 years later most shingles are completely void of granules exposing fiberglass mat. Filed a warranty claim and Owens Corning proposed resolution is a materials voucher for less than half of the 60 square, no labor etc. These people are criminals!

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (13)

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (14)

64 people found this review helpful

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (15)

BRUCE of Paxton, IL Verified Reviewer

Original review: May 23, 2019

I built a new home 11 years ago and used Duration shingles which had a 30 year and a 100 MPH blow off warranty. The past few years I had several shingles blow off and fixed at my expense. In March of 2019 I had many large areas of shingles blow off. I had the local Owens sales rep come out with my contractor, who is a certified Owens installer. The rep told us that the Duration shingles of that vintage had a factory defect and we should see some compensation. The rep took pictures and sent to OC.

I then get a package asking for many items including proof of ownership, detailed pictures, shingle samples, etc. When it came down to it after many calls and discussion with the warranty department that the shingles were past the 5 year sealing and blow off warranty. We received no compensation as goodwill or anything under warranty. I am now having the installer put on CertainTeed shingles. If anyone out there is having the same issue and is thinking about a class action, please let me know. Not an easy company to deal with.

(Video) Why we couldn't film Owens Corning at 2021 IRE...

84 people found this review helpful

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (16)

James of Tempe, AZ Verified Reviewer Verified Buyer

Original review: Feb. 8, 2019

My new O/C shingles failed after one year; pigeon droppings caused the granules to fall off leaving ugly bare tar rings. Customer service was insulting, they told me that it was my responsibility to know better than to buy their product (really), and have now repeatedly stated that their shingles meet their own standards. None of my specific questions were answered; they could not cite any product of their own that would hold up against bird droppings. Do not do business with this company, they are marketing a rotten product and judging from the many complaints, they know it is rotten. Spread the word!

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (17)

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (18)

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (19)

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (20)

56 people found this review helpful

Top 214 Owens Corning Shingles Reviews (21)

Bryan of Orlando, FL Verified Reviewer

Original review: Jan. 11, 2019

I had Owens Corning shingles installed on my home back in 2006 and immediately we noticed a lot of shingle granules coming off the shingles. Also I had an add-on on my home in 2011 and Owens Corning shingles did the same thing. I contacted Owens Corning. From the beginning they were just very rude. Very unprofessional and I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone. The shingles have always had granule problems on every Owens Corning shingle that I used on my home and to get it warrantied I was told it had a labor warranty up to 10 years. Now they're telling me it's 5.

65 people found this review helpful

FAQs

Are Owens Corning shingles good quality? ›

Owens Corning shingles are well known for their high quality because of the materials that are used and the process by which they are made. The shingles are layered with: Patented Fiberglas, which protects against the elements, and has a class A fire resistance rating.

Are Owens Corning or GAF shingles better? ›

In terms of product quality, GAF and Owens Corning both carry excellent shingles — but GAF shingles offer more protection for wind and hail.

Is Owens Corning Duration a 50 year shingle? ›

American Roofing and Remodeling is a preferred contractor certified with Owens corning who offers a 50 Year shingles warranty. This covers both labor and material if a full roof replacement would need to be done.
...
DURATION TRU DEFINITION COLLECTION.
Algae Resistance10 Years
Coverage per Square98.4 sq. ft.
7 more rows

How long will an Owens Corning roof last? ›

Choosing the right Duration series shingle for your home
ATTRIBUTESDuration®Duration® Designer
Limited Lifetime Warranty ³
Wind Resistance ⁴130 MPH130 MPH
Algae Resistance ⁴10 Years10 Years
UL2218 Impact Resistance Rating--
10 more rows

What is the best color roof shingle to use? ›

17 Facts and Tips on How to Pick Shingle Colors to Complement Your Home
HOUSE COLORBEST MATCHING ROOF SHINGLE COLOR
Beige/CreamBrown, Black, Grey, Green, Blue
BrownGrey, Brown, Green, Blue
WhiteAlmost any color including Brown, Grey, Black, Green, Blue, White
Weathered Wood or Log HousesBrown, Green, Black, Grey
2 more rows

What are the longest lasting roof shingles? ›

The longest-lasting shingles on the market are laminated shingles with a lifetime warranty and fall into two categories: dimensional shingles, which have a standard architectural shingle pattern) and “luxury” shingles, which do a better job of approximating the appearance of shakes or slate shingles.

Are thicker shingles better? ›

For example, in the roofing industry, it is universally agreed upon that the heavier the shingle, the more efficient said shingle is.

What is the difference between Owens Corning Oakridge and duration shingles? ›

Owens Corning certifies their shingles through independent testing. The Oakridge series meets 110 mph wind resistance standards with a standard 4 nail application, but the Duration series can withstand winds of 130 mph.

Are fiberglass shingles better than asphalt? ›

Because of their fiberglass base, fiberglass asphalt shingles are more fire-resistant than organic asphalt shingles. They do not have the flammable paper or felt base, making them a better shingle for hot climates. They're both fire retardant and heat resistant.

What are luxury shingles? ›

Luxury (also called premium) asphalt shingles are what the name says; they're the luxury line of asphalt shingles. They're designed to look like slate tiles that give your roof a look that stands out compared to the other types of asphalt shingles. But their curb appeal isn't the only thing that sets them apart.

Are algae resistant shingles worth it? ›

It's easy to see why installing algae-resistant shingles is the most cost-effective way to deal with your potential algae problem. As the saying goes, an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. You can stop algae before it even starts by installing algae-resistant shingles in the first place.

Do Owens Corning Duration shingles qualify for tax credit? ›

There is a $500 lifetime limitation on this credit. All Owens Corning products listed on page 1 of this certificate qualify for up to $500. Circumstances vary widely, so homeowners should consult with their tax adviser for further guidance.

What class are Owens Corning shingles? ›

Class 4, Impact-Resistant Roofing Shingles | Owens Corning Roofing.

Is Owens Corning worth it? ›

How much a company is worth is typically represented by its market capitalization, or the current stock price multiplied by the number of shares outstanding. Owens Corning Inc net worth as of August 16, 2022 is $8.7B.

Do Owens Corning shingles fade? ›

Asphalt shingles do indeed fade, but the rate at which they lose color can vary, especially when it comes to shade. Dark gray shingles will fade to lighter grays more easily than shingles that start out in lighter shades.

What class is Owens Corning Duration shingles? ›

Thanks in part to Owens Corning patented WeatherGuard technology, Duration Shingles have a rating of UL 2218 class 4. This is the highest rating for impact resistance; there is no class 5.

Are Owens Corning shingles ENERGY STAR rated? ›

Owens Corning™ now offers a full line of ENERGY STAR® rated shingles that provide all the protection you expect plus the increased energy efficiency you demand. Available nationwide, our ENERGY STAR® rated shingles come in a variety of solar-reflecting colors.

Does Owens Corning make a 30 year shingle? ›

4.8 out of 5 stars. Read reviews for average rating value is 4.8 of 5.

What is better fiberglass or asphalt shingles? ›

Better Durability: Because organic asphalt shingles contain more asphalt than fiberglass shingles, they are more durable, and as a result, they last longer than fiberglass. Their added durability also means that they are more likely to last through severe storms without getting blown away or damaged.

What's the difference between 3 tab and architectural shingles? ›

Three-tab shingles are flat and have a single tab shape and size. They are uniform, which gives them a matte appearance. Architectural shingles appear more dimensional. These shingles can mimic the look of more expensive roofing materials like cedar or slate, which can add to the home's curb appeal.

Videos

1. Duration Flex: Owens Corning roofing best shingle yet?
(Dmitry Lipinskiy)
2. GAF shingles vs. Owens Corning shingles - review
(HOW TO)
3. Shingle Roof Installation Huntington Beach, CA- Owens Corning Duration Cool Shingle
(The General Contractor)
4. Best Roofing Shingles: Certainteed, Atlas, Owens Corning, Tamko, IKO
(Dmitry Lipinskiy)
5. How to choose the best roof shingles; Owens Corning Shingles and Underlayments.
(Pennington Roofing and Construction)
6. Malarkey VS Owens Corning Shingle ROOFING IMPACT TEST
(Stans Roofing and Siding)

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Merrill Bechtelar CPA

Last Updated: 09/16/2022

Views: 5860

Rating: 5 / 5 (50 voted)

Reviews: 81% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Merrill Bechtelar CPA

Birthday: 1996-05-19

Address: Apt. 114 873 White Lodge, Libbyfurt, CA 93006

Phone: +5983010455207

Job: Legacy Representative

Hobby: Blacksmithing, Urban exploration, Sudoku, Slacklining, Creative writing, Community, Letterboxing

Introduction: My name is Merrill Bechtelar CPA, I am a clean, agreeable, glorious, magnificent, witty, enchanting, comfortable person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.