Top 10 Mold Removal Companies Near Me | Reviews & Grades Nearby | Angi (2022)

Reviews of Mold Remediation Near You

MoldGone LLC

5.0

We are very happy. Joe Mulieri examined mold in our attic, beneath the plywood on our roof, and identifed a major cause that an earlier mold company had missed. Joe proposed to correct the cause and to remove the mold for only a little more than the other company would have charged simply to remove the mold. A two-person Mold Gone team arrived as scheduled and worked efficiently to correct a bathroom vent that had been misdirected, and then to remove the mold that the improper vent had caused. Once the mold was gone, the team applied a preventative coat that will inhibit mold growth in the future on the affected areas of the roof. Joe and his team were skillful, friendly, communicative and polite. They were also thorough and quick. It was a pleasure to work with them, and we expect that our neighbors who use their services will be equally pleased.

- Lewis G....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

They followed all of the Mold hygienist recommendations and protocols that were needed to get rid of the mold both on the drywall and in the air. Excellent company!

- Judith G....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

very wel, we did not have mold but this man knew his business concerning mold and its treatment

- Dr. L....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

We hired Joe to do a mold inspection as part of an inspection contingency for a home purchase.He was fantastic - he arrived on time, was extremely professional and knowledgable about mold issues. He did a very thorough inspection of the home - including exterior grading. He did find mold and discussed possible ways to remediate - some options were very reasonably priced. We did not go ahead with the purchase of this home but we will definitely call Joe at Mold Gone for future mold inspections.

- Michael S....

(Video) A Beginner's Guide To College Search

MoldGone LLC

5.0

The overall experience was excellent. The Mold Gone rep kept me informed of what he was looking for and gave me important tips to better protect the home from any mold growth in the future. My particular issue related to a leak in the HVAC system and did not require Mold Gone's services, but the Mold Gone rep was kind enough to refer me to another company. I was charged nothing for the visit and walked away with a good set of recommendations to protect my home from mold. I would definitely call Mold Gone for services in the future.

- Julia P....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

I highly recommend Mold Gone for its service. My house had some water damage due to severe rain. I contacted Mold Gone to inspect my house and determine whether there was any mold, or concern for mold growth. Making an appointment was simple and Joe (the owner) showed up right on time. After inspecting my first floor and basement, he found a small amount of mold in my basement closet and some behind drywall, where water had entered into the basement. He provided instructions on how I could clean and treat the mold myself, and save from incurring charges. He could have easily engaged in scare tactics to run up the bill. He dedicated close to an hour and left without charging me anything. I highly recommend Mold Gone for their professionalism and honesty.

- Hillary S....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

2/5/15: $125 Comprehensive Mold or Water Damage Inspection 2/16/15: Jon arrived on time for the mold inspection appointment. He listened to my concerns of past water intrusion and the fact that during recent waterproofing mold was discovered. Jon inspected the areas of concern and provided advice for future mold prevention. 2/19/15: Provided the much desired Certificate of Visual Mold Inspection report. Findings Summizared: "Although no visible mold remains, the exposed wall cavity can be painted with Aftershock fungicidal coating, available at McCormick Paints locations. Use of proper PPE is recommended during this process. MoldGone recommends running a 70-pint dehumidifier in the basement during the more humid, summer months to control the indoor humidity levels and prevent future mold growth." The process was short and sweet. Jon was extremely responsive and professional.

- Octavia D....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

We hired Mike at Mold Gone to address some mold issues that were popping up in the basement of our Reston, VA townhouse. Mike came out within a day or two of our initial call, and from the get-go we could tell he was very knowledgeable and takes great pride in his work. He was very quickly able to identify the precise problem that was causing the mold, and he was back within a couple days to address it. We have not had any mold since! Mike was a pleasure to work with, and Mold Gone's rates are very reasonable. We would recommend Mold Gone to anyone (and did recommend them already to a neighbor that is also having mold problems in their basement).

- Mary R....

MoldGone LLC

(Video) Blue Thunder Mining Inc. | Webinar Replay

5.0

There were complaints of mold in our bathroom around the shower tile. MoldGone inspected the bathroom and determined that although there was mold present, it wasn't enough mold to be harmful. MoldGone also provided instructions for me to resolve the issue myself at a lower cost!.

- James W....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

Excellent--great work by real professionals! The mold inspection was detailed, thorough--pointing out areas of real concern, while identifying other water-damaged areas not of mold concern. The mold remediation work was impressive--very precise, neat cuts of the drywall in various areas, as well as of tile and wetwall in our master bath, followed by thorough application of mold killer-retardant. They made the reconstruction process a lot easier for our contractor.

- Alexander G....

The Best Air Quality and Restoration

5.0

The inspector was thorough and knowledgeable and pointed out areas that would be prone to have mold but did not find any. He explained many things about mold and how to continue to avoid getting mold.

- Bruce B....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

What can I say... the other reviewers don't lie. I recently pulled my carpet in my basement to find mold. I took to AL to find a qualified, honest mold remediator. Based on the preponderance of the reviews, I contacted Mold Gone. I was in touch within 72 hours and sent pictures to give the company an idea of what I was dealing with. True to form, I was told that I did not need Mold Gone's service and could treat the situation myself. I must be too jaded to expect an honest contractor but Mold Gone is one. I highly recommend them, not only because they did not charge me, but also because I am confident that had I contracted with Mold Gone, there is no doubt that they would be able to treat the condition.

- Korry M....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

(Video) IRP Seminar, January 30, 2020 - Jacob Faber

I reached out to Mold Gone in the midst of Hurricane Sandy, when I discovered terrible mold growing in the basement storage room. Despite it being such a busy time for them, Mike came out for an assessment within a few days. He gave great advice and suggested that the source of the problem was likely coming from the exterior -- he was right, and after having work done on the exterior to resolve the leakage problem, Mold Gone came and did the agreed-upon work. Mike and his partner were incredibly professional and talked us through the work they were doing. They also gave great advice on other improvements (e.g., installing a dehumidifier) that could alleviate further mold risk. So far, so good. No mold has returned (knock on wood). While their services are definitely an investment, the quality, expertise and reliability are second to none. I highly recommend Mold Gone.

- Jessica W....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

Mold Gone was responsive, professional, courteous, and clean. I had a question about the work and they were back within a couple of days to make a small adjustment. I would recommend them to anyone needing mold remediation.

- Ginta C....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

I found them through Angie's List. They were good. They were little too early; they had already left after I got there.

- Jeffrey E....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

He told me it was very common in a basement to have some mold due to higher humidity, suggested using a dehumidifier, and suggested products to clean the mold and prevent future mold. No charge.

- Denise H....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

(Video) Robert Macdonald of Southern Silver Exploration presents at the Metals Investor Forum, Nov. 13, 2021

They did a good job. They fixed the issue with the mold around the oven completely, and gave me some good tips on how to get rid of the other mold for free.

- Richard M....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

I had experienced mold damage from basement flooding from Hurricane Irene in August 2011. I did not realize that I had a mold problem due to limited mold visibility and the eliminate of the moldy test until I had a mold test performed in late September. The teast revealed high levels of mold spores in the air of my basement. I eliminated the moldy smell by removing and throwing away the wet carpet the day following Hurricane Irene; washing the floor several times and treated it with vinegar and water; and finding moldy items in the basement and throwing them away. However the mold test revealed I have a serious mold problem. Out of four quotes, Joe provided me with the best mold remediation solution and best price. His son and partner, Mike, did an excellent job managing the project and leading the team that performed the remediation. They were highly professional, timely, and responsive to all my needs and concerns. They were eager in assuring that I was satisfied with the job. I would rehire them and recommend them to friends.

- Cynthia V....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

I had Mold Gone come out earlier this year to remediate some mold in my garage and they did a fantastic job (which you can see my other review for). Pretty much no sooner than writing my review - in which I believe included some verbiage about how one hopes never to have to call mold people just because of the nature of mold (but that Mold Gone was absolutely fantastic) - karma came calling in the form of some water marks on my master bathroom ceiling. We are preparing our house to sell, and I am a naturally paranoid person, so I got a little batty. But I had no doubt in my mind about the proper course of action: I called Mike Mulieri immediately, and he came the next day at a time convenient for me. He checked the area of concern and reassured me that it was not a problem and suggested a very inexpensive fix. While Mike was there, he also checked a couple of other areas that I had concerns about and did an air quality test on one area. Mike refused payment - even on the air quality test, which came back negative (and which Mike took the time to explain post-facto). I told him that I would sing his praises on Angie's List instead, and I am doing that here. Mold Gone was fantastic for our real mold problem. Mold Gone was fantastic for our fictive mold problem. Mold Gone is, just simply put, fantastic. The peace of mind Mike brought to both situations was, itself, priceless. If you find yourself needing mold remediation or consulting, these are the guys you want to have working for you. (And they're welcome to pop around for a beer if they're in the neighborhood again). Thanks, Mold Gone.

- Sarah L....

MoldGone LLC

5.0

They were by far the best choice for mold remediation that I've had. They were great. They were very responsive and flexible.

- Timothy M....

Mold inside our homes is serious and dangerous business. Black mold is potentially toxic. Mold remediation is the only safe, reliable way to deal with a mold issue in a home or business.

What is Mold Remediation?

Because of the many varieties of mold and the possible toxic effects, mold remediation is usually handled by specialists. Black mold is the most serious challenge and requires a high-quality, careful treatment plan.

If you can see mold, you need not spend money on mold testing. The remediation company will either remove every moldy surface or treat the surface to destroy the mold. Most companies also treat the remaining surfaces with a preventive spray so airborne mold spores do not propagate.

How Much Does Mold Removal Cost?

According to industry experts, one small job might cost as little as $500 while a major remediation project could run up to $30,000.

Mold in attics and ducts drive the cost up; an unfinished basement is less expensive than removing mold from living spaces. A home that was flooded and harbors mold could be far more than $30,000.

Hiring Mold Remediation Near You

Never skimp on hiring qualified mold remediation companies. Use a trusted reference like the above nearby List to find local, licensed services. These trainedexperts use industrial equipment and cleaning supplies to completely eradicate mold in your home or business.Focus on the pros with the best grades and ratings. Read some of their reviews before contacting them. Get three quotes to compare prices.

What is The Mold Removal Process?

Please refer to the EPA for the full process. Here is the 9-step mold removal process you can expect:

  1. Fix the issue that caused the flooding or the leak.
  2. Section off or quarantine the mold damaged rooms. This could involve covering the doors and windows with plastic sheets.
  3. Mist the damaged areas for dust to prevent it from going airborne during the next phases.
  4. Remove and throw away all mold-covered materials in 6-mil plastic bags. There is a list with the EPA on what exact materials need to be removed for proper risk mitigation.
  5. Clean all surfaces with a wire brush, disposable wipes and then a follow up with several applications of a bleach solution with rags and a mop.
  6. All disposable wipes should be sealed in plastic bags. Throughout the process some of bags will need to be double wrapped. The bags can be thrown away into regular trash once sealed.
  7. Clean the room with a HEPA vacuum.
  8. Dry the area with a large industrial fan.
  9. Double check for moisture or any remaining mold. The removed pieces of wall, window frames, etc. can now be rebuilt using fresh materials.

Explore Our Solution Center for Helpful Mold Removal Company Articles

FAQs

How do I choose a good mold removal company? ›

Don't be afraid to ask the following questions before hiring a mold remediation company.
  1. Do you consider mold to be a potential health hazard? ...
  2. Do you recommend testing the environment? ...
  3. Do you document your work? ...
  4. Do you contain the area properly? ...
  5. Are you insured? ...
  6. Do your workers wear protective gear?

How much does it cost to get rid of a mold problem? ›

Call up a local pest control specialist. On average, mold removal costs $2,347, with a typical price range between $1,373 and $3,325 or between $13.33 and $28.33 per square foot. Small mold remediation projects have an average cost of $458, while large-scale remediation averages around $6,333.

Should mold be removed by a professional? ›

But, in general, the answer is that the smaller the mold problem, the less likely you are to need a professional. Mold problems go hand in hand with water problems, so when you've got a water leak or flooding that isn't taken care of quickly, mold is usually soon to follow.

How long does it take to professionally remove mold? ›

Traditional mold remediation methods typically take around seven days, depending on the scope and severity of the problem. However, this doesn't mean that you'll be back to normal life within a week.

Is there a spray for mold? ›

Concrobium Mold Control is a patented solution that effectively eliminates and prevents mold and mildew with no bleach or harmful chemicals. It can also be used to get rid of musty odors.

How do you remediate black mold? ›

For a natural solution for getting rid of black mold, combine one part baking soda with five parts distilled white vinegar and five parts water in a spray bottle. Alternatively, you can use a chemical-based mold and mildew remover, all-purpose cleaners, bleach or dish soap.

What kills mold instantly? ›

Hydrogen peroxide kills mold effectively on materials such as clothing, floors, bathroom fixtures, walls and items such as kitchen appliances. Pour 3% concentration hydrogen peroxide into a spray bottle. Spray the moldy surface completely to saturate the area with hydrogen peroxide.

Does homeowners insurance cover mold? ›

Although most policies will not offer universal cover against mould, most insurers will offer a mould-insurance clause as an optional extra (for a fee, of course). All-in-all, prevention is the safest way to save the cost of mould removal.

Can mold be completely removed from a house? ›

However, the reality of mold is this: Even though some mold can be removed from the home by cleaning thoroughly and taking out rotten materials, it can never be removed completely, which is why getting rid of it is often referred to as “mold remediation.” The important thing is to handle a mold issue promptly to help ...

Does mold come back after remediation? ›

If you don't eliminate the original source of the moisture, mold will certainly come back, even after using bleach! One of the reasons is that even when you clean a surface with bleach, mold may still be lurking deep within the material in areas your cleaning may have missed.

What is the difference between mold removal and mold remediation? ›

While mold removal is the process of removing the mold, it does not address identifying the source. However, mold remediation centers on all actions taken to combat mold infestation and return mold level to the point that is not dangerous to the health of inhabitants and the building's structure.

How do professionals detect mold? ›

Broadly speaking, most mold testing involves taking a sample of either the air or a surface. Essentially, a mold inspector "tests" the air or surface to find out what kind of mold exists and/or if the mold found is able to grow in the area tested.

How long after cleaning mold is it safe? ›

Remove standing water and wet materials. Use a wet vacuum to remove water from floors, carpets, and hard surfaces. Dry your home and everything in it as quickly as you can – within 24 to 48 hours if you can. Open all doors and windows when you are working and leave as many open as is safe when you leave.

Should I walk away from a house with mold? ›

If you are a buyer of a home, don't walk away from your dream home because a little mold is discovered. In fact, you may even receive a great deal on a home with mold because other buyers will lose interest due to lack of education. And you can usually skip the mold inspection.

What happens after mold remediation? ›

Following the post-mold-remediation inspection, you'll receive an inspection report. It will identify any areas that still contain moisture or mold growth, as well as the results of air sample testing.

What is the strongest mold killer? ›

The most effective chemicals for removing mold stains contain bleach. Even though bleach does not kill mold as well as some other chemicals (the “kill rate” is not as good), it still kills the mold.

What kills mold better vinegar or hydrogen peroxide? ›

Hydrogen peroxide is just one of many household ingredients you can use to clean mold. Using vinegar is another effective way to clean mold in your home. However, it's important not to mix hydrogen peroxide and vinegar together.

Which mold and mildew remover is best? ›

Best Overall: RMR-86 Instant Mold & Mildew Stain Remover

The RMR-86 Instant Mold Stain & Mildew Stain Remover spray is our best overall pick because it meets all of our criteria: a mildew remover that can tackle almost every surface, is budget-friendly, and works quickly.

What kills mold better bleach or vinegar? ›

Is Vinegar More Effective Than Bleach? Vinegar truly is better than cleaning with bleach when it comes to killing mold. The EPA does not recommend using bleach to kill or remove mold, except in special circumstances. In most cases, “a background level of mold spores will remain” after the application of bleach.

What kills mold spores in the air? ›

Place air purifiers throughout your home to kill mold in the air. The only way to directly kill mold spores in the air is to use an air purifier. For best results, place purifiers in each room of your house to ensure maximum efficiency in killing the spores.

What kills mold on walls? ›

Use 1 part bleach to 3 parts water, according to Sherwin-Williams. If you don't want to use bleach but do want something other than water, try vinegar, borax or branded products that you can find at a hardware store or home center, which also kill mold.

Can I leave vinegar on mold overnight? ›

Vinegar can kill black mold and is best used on nonporous surfaces. White vinegar is a powerhouse for cleaning, deodorizing, and disinfecting around the house. It can also kill black mold, a mold that commonly appears when there is water damage. Spray vinegar onto the moldy surface and leave it for an hour.

What is the difference between mold and mildew? ›

Mildew refers to certain kinds of mold or fungus. The term mildew is often used generically to refer to mold growth, usually with a flat growth habit. Molds include all species of microscopic fungi that grow in the form of multicellular filaments, called hyphae.

Does drywall with mold need to be replaced? ›

As we just said, since mold cannot be completely removed from drywall, the drywall must be removed and replaced. This must be done with care because cutting into moldy drywall causes mold spores to become airborne and spread.

Does insurance cover mold in walls? ›

A standard homeowners insurance policy should cover a mold claim if the growth has been caused by a covered peril that is sudden or accidental in nature, and the mold is hidden within walls or ceilings, beneath floors, or above the ceilings of a structure.

Where does mold come from in a house? ›

Mold and mildew need only a damp, moist environment and organic material to establish themselves and thrive. Roof and foundation leaks, high interior humidity, overflowing washing machines and more severe forms of flooding are common sources of moisture and are what causes mold in a house.

Can a house with mold be fixed? ›

If the mold infestation is fairly advanced, you may need some major structural work to eliminate the issue. For instance, it might require cutting into drywall or even complete demolition to some parts of the home.

How is mold removed from a home? ›

Scrub the surface mold stains from walls and wood trim with a mixture of one quart water and 1/2-cup bleach mold cleaner to kill the mold. Use a soft brush and work until signs of the mold disappear. After scrubbing the surfaces, allow the bleach solution to continue to penetrate the surfaces and dry.

Can I remove black mold myself? ›

Add one cup of bleach to one gallon of water and apply it to the moldy spots. You can also find commercial black mold removal products. Soak a paper towel in the cleaner and press it over the mold growth to dampen the area. Then start scrubbing.

What are symptoms of mold exposure? ›

Some people are sensitive to molds. For these people, exposure to molds can lead to symptoms such as stuffy nose, wheezing, and red or itchy eyes, or skin. Some people, such as those with allergies to molds or with asthma, may have more intense reactions.

Videos

1. GBAPSD Board of Education Meeting: October 7, 2019
(CESA 7 Educational Technology Services)
2. Associated Asphalt Day 1
(New Mexico Environment Department)
3. Plastic Injection Molding Costing Secrets Revealed
(Glasfil Polymer - Injection Molding Malaysia)
4. 8-31-21 NRC RMC SMM Webinar - Carton Recycling Update
(Bob Bylone, President, CEO, PennRMC)
5. Wireline technology and well intervention webinar
(BUOG SPE Student Chapter)
6. Installment 3 Reel of Makeup
(Imfamousx1x)

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Margart Wisoky

Last Updated: 08/02/2022

Views: 6059

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (58 voted)

Reviews: 81% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Margart Wisoky

Birthday: 1993-05-13

Address: 2113 Abernathy Knoll, New Tamerafurt, CT 66893-2169

Phone: +25815234346805

Job: Central Developer

Hobby: Machining, Pottery, Rafting, Cosplaying, Jogging, Taekwondo, Scouting

Introduction: My name is Margart Wisoky, I am a gorgeous, shiny, successful, beautiful, adventurous, excited, pleasant person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.